Tourism Development and Marketing

AlaskaHost Pin

Artwork by Rie Muñoz

AlaskaHost Program

What is AlaskaHost?

AlaskaHost is a statewide customer service training program for employees of the hospitality and visitor services industry. The program trains participants how to provide quality customer service for residents and visitors to Alaska.

AlaskaHost Objectives

The objectives of the AlaskaHost class are to:

  • Understand the importance of providing quality customer service;
  • Recognize and anticipate customer needs and expectations;
  • Understand the economic value of the visitor industry to the State of Alaska;
  • Learn how to deal with dissatisfied customers in a professional, helpful manner.

Completion of AlaskaHost

Upon completion of the Customer Service Essentials course, participants receive a course certificate and lapel pin, featuring the artwork of, Alaskan artist, Rie Muñoz.

AlaskaHost Classes

The following classes are available for your organization or business.

Customer Service Essentials (4 hours)

This is a condensed and revised version of the original 8 hr. AlaskaHost class. Topics covered include:

  • What is customer service and why is it important?
  • The economic benefit of tourism to the state of Alaska
  • The power of positive first impressions
  • Types of angry customers
  • How to handle angry or dissatisfied customers
CulturalHost (4 hours)

The Alaska Native CulturalHost Seminar is a comprehensive training program designed with assistance from the Cook Inlet Tribal Council to provide a greater understanding and appreciation of Alaska Native culture for workers within Alaska’s hospitality and tourism industry. The course covers:

  • Discussion of the meaning of “culture”
  • Overview of the main Alaska Native groups
  • Detailed presentations on the culture and characteristics of several Alaska Native groups
Serving Customers with Disabilities (1 hour)

This class provides participants with information on how to better accommodate and respect the varied needs of customers with disabilities. Coursework focuses on:

  • The economic impact of the disability market within the overall tourism industry
  • Effective communication techniques when serving customers with disabilities
  • Discussion of the video “The 10 Commandments of Communicating with People with Disabilities”.
Telephone Customer Service (1 hour)

The telephone is often the first point of contact that potential customers may have with you. The Telephone Customer Serviceclass will provide instruction on the basics of handling incoming and outgoing telephone calls for your business or organization. Coursework includes:

  • General telephone etiquette
  • Effectively resolving customer complaints over the telephone
Alaska in your Backyard: Learn about the “Last Frontier” (1hour)

How well do your employees know the local history, sights, activities and attractions of your community? Alaska in your Backyard provides an opportunity for participants to learn more about the local area and provide factual community and regional information for many different types of visitors. Coursework includes:

  • How and where to obtain local and regional information
  • Developing a list of attractions, activities and events in your community
  • Familiarization with local services and providers
  • Visitor safety
  • Alaska state facts trivia

Current AlaskaHost Trainers
Master Trainers

Odin Brudie
(907) 209-4344
odin@gci.net

Patti Mackey
Ketchikan Visitors Bureau
(907) 225-6166
pmackey@visit-ketchikan.com

Tony Nakazawa
UAF Cooperative Extension Service
(907) 786-6323
atnakazawa@alaska.edu

Jasmin Smith
The Business Boutique
(907) 529-9472
info@thebusinessboutique.org

Seminar Leaders
Anchorage

Brenda Carlson
Visit Anchorage
(907) 276-4118
bcarlson@anchorage.net

Ann Lawrence
Cook Inlet Tribal Council
Phone (907) 793-3281
alawrence@citci.com

Nancy Darrington
McLaughlin Secondary School
(907) 742-8100
darrington_nancy@asdk12.org

Tony Nakazawa
UAF Cooperative Extension Service
(907) 786-6323
atnakazawa@alaska.edu

Steve Rader 
Director of Sales and Marketing at Hilton Anchorage
(907) 265-7128
steve.rader@hilton.com

Jasmin Smith
(907) 529-9472
info@thebusinessboutique.org

Ruth Tong
Cook Inlet Tribal Council
(907) 793-3600
rtong@citci.com

David Walberg
Alaska Geotourism
(907) 223-6745
djwalbergster@gmail.com

Fairbanks

Charity Gadapee
Assistant Manager of Visitor Services & Membership
Fairbanks Convention & Visitors Bureau
(907) 459-3791 phone
cgadapee@explorefairbanks.com

Glennallen/Copper Valley

Katrina Church-Chmielowski
Prince William Sound Community College
907-822-3673
kat@cvinternet.net

Homer

Jenny Martin
Big Brothers Big Sisters
(907) 235-8391
(907) 235-8392 FAX
jenny.martin@bbbsak.org

Juneau

Odin Brudie
(907) 209-4344
odin@gci.net

Joel Probst
Northern Safety Operations
PO Box 34944
Juneau, AK 99803
907-523-9094
info@northernsafetyoperations.com

Ketchikan

Melissa Cruise
Alaska Department of Labor
(907) 228-3237
melissa.cruise@alaska.gov

Faith L. Duncan
Tongass National Forest
(907) 228-6278
fduncan@fs.fed.us

Gai Hooker
Alaska Department of Labor
(907) 228-3234
gai.hooker@alaska.gov

Shauna Lee
Great Alaskan Lumberjack Show
(907) 617-6002
shauna@lumberjacksports.com

Patti Mackey
Ketchikan Visitors Bureau
(907) 225-6166
pmackey@visit-ketchikan.com

Palmer/Wasilla

James Smith (contact Ramona Norman)
Alaska Job Corps Center
(907) 861-8845
norman.ramona@jobcorps.org

Kristen Brown
Mat-su Job Center
(907) 352-2586
kristen.brown2@alaska.gov

Sitka

Tonia Rioux
Sitka Convention and Visitors Bureau
(907) 747-5940
director@sitka.org

Trainer Materials

To access the AlaskaHost training materials such as participant workbooks, order forms, and PowerPoint presentations, you will need to enter the AlaskaHost password provided during your AlaskaHost training on our password protected site.

If you can't remember the password please Click here to email Alaska Host staff to request the password.

Scheduled Classes

The State of Alaska provides information on AlaskaHost classes scheduled by authorized trainers as a service to potential students. Schedules, locations, and fees for services are determined by individual trainers. If you are a trainer and are scheduling a class, please contact staff to have your class listed here.

We have no scheduled classes from trainers at this time.

Contact Us

Caryl McConkie
Development Specialist
907-465-5478
caryl.mcconkie@alaska.gov