State Medical Board


Due to the high volume of applications there is a delay in the processing of new applications.
The normal processing time of 8-12 weeks, is taking a minimum of 3-4 months at this time.
We apologize greatly for the delay, and ask that you plan accordingly and make sure that your application is completed when submitted.

Online renewal is no longer available.

Please go to our Applications and Forms page and submit a paper application.

The State Medical Board is staffed by the Division of Corporations, Business and Professional Licensing. The board consists of five physicians, one physician assistant, and two public members. Board members are appointed by the governor and confirmed by the Legislature.

The Board adopts regulations to carry out the laws governing the practice of medicine in Alaska. It makes final licensing decisions and takes disciplinary action against people who violate the licensing laws. The board meets four times a year and offers a public comment period at each meeting. Meeting agendas and minutes are available from the executive administrator.

Professions Regulated by the Board

  • Osteopath
  • Paramedic
  • Physician
  • Physician Assistant
  • Podiatrist

Statutes and Regulations

Alaska Statutes are passed by the Legislature. Regulations (also called the Alaska Administrative Code) are rules adopted by the board to implement, interpret, and make specific the statutes. Both statutes and regulations have the force of law.

AS 08.64 and regulations 12 AAC 40 specifically govern the practice of medicine. AS 08.01 - 08.03 and regulations 12 AAC 02 apply to all professions regulated by the division.

Proposed regulations are advertised in Alaska newspapers and we invite public comment on them. If you would like to receive notice of proposed regulations, please write to the regulations specialist and request that your name be added to the Medical interested parties list. Please advise us if you move or wish your name removed from the mailing list.

Contact Information

To file a complaint or to contact our investigations unit:

Executive Administrator

  • Debora Stovern
    550 West 7th Avenue, Suite 1500
    Anchorage, AK 99501-3567
    Phone: (907) 269-8163
    Fax: (907) 269-8196

Licensing Examiners

  • Mary Sikes (A-K)
    P.O. Box 110806
    Juneau AK 99811-0806
    Phone: (907) 465-2756
    Fax: (907) 465-2974
  • Aiko Zaguirre (L-Z)
    P.O. Box 110806
    Juneau AK 99811-0806
    Phone: (907) 465-2541
    Fax: (907) 465-2974