How long does it take to process my application?
It may take 8 weeks to issue your permanent license. Applications are processed in date order of receipt. You can help us process your application more rapidly by making sure you complete the application correctly and submit the correct fees and supporting documents.
How do I find out the status of my application?
You will be notified in writing or by e-mail as soon as your application has been reviewed. Please allow 6 weeks from the date the application is received for your status letter to reach you. E-mail is considerably faster.
Can I apply for a temporary permit?
Yes, a temporary permit is valid for 6 months and can be requested when you submit your application. The fee for the temporary permit is $50.00. Requesting a temporary permit does not speed up the licensing process.
How soon will my temporary permit be issued?
If the application is complete, a temporary permit can be issued in 6-8 weeks. Requesting a temporary permit does not speed up the licensing process.
How can I fast-track my endorsement application?
Can I submit faxed copies to complete my application?
No, faxed documents are not acceptable.
Why are the licensing fees in Alaska so expensive?
Alaska law requires each licensed profession to cover its own regulatory costs (AS 08.01.065). Therefore, the Board of Nursing must cover its expenses. Each licensee pays a share of that expense through licensing fees. Generally, the more licensees there are, the lower the licensing fee.
How are licensing fees set?
About four (4) months before the current license expiration date, the Division reviews the Board’s expenses for the prior two fiscal years and calculates licensing fees based on expenses, with consideration given to roll forward credits or debits and projected increases or decreases.
How do I verify my Alaska license to another agency?
Your license can be verified on-line at Nursing.Alaska.Gov by performing a professional license search. Or, the employer can go to nursys.com to verify your license in Alaska.
I’m moving and need to verify my license for the new state. How do I do this?
All verification of license requests are to be completed through the Nursys on-line verification system at nursys.com.
Is my license information considered public information?
Yes, licensing records are public documents and are available to members of the public upon written request and payment of copying fees. Information considered confidential and not released to the public include social security numbers, examination scores and transcripts, medical records, criminal background results, and other information considered confidential by state or federal law. Your address of record is public information and is displayed on the Division’s internet licensing search program. Licensees have expressed concern about this practice. To remedy this concern, some licensees have elected to have a post office box or practice location for their official address of record to avoid having their residential address easily accessible. Please be advised that all notices from the Board (renewal notices, licenses, and other legal documents) will be mailed to the address of record.
How do I change my address?
You are required by regulation to keep the Division advised of your current mailing address at all times. Changes of address must be in writing and include your signature authorizing the change. The Board of Nursing’s mailing address is:
550 W. 7th Avenue, Suite 1500
Anchorage AK 99501-3567
Fax: (907) 269-8196
How do I change my name?
To change your name, mail a Certified True Copy of the original legal document that reflects the name change AND download the Name Change Affidavit Form from this website. A $5.00 fee payable to the State of Alaska must accompany the name change request. The Board of Nursing’s mailing address is:
How do I get my fingerprints taken?
Fingerprints must be completed on a card form FD-258 and may be completed at any location or facility where they are authorized to perform fingerprinting. Before you submit the completed card to the Board, make sure you have filled out all of the required information on the card (one card is needed) and that the person taking the fingerprints signed his/her name where indicated. Note: a physical address is required; do not submit an address that is a post office box. If you need a card sent to you, request a card by clicking the link by the applications for licensure.
When does my license lapse?
All RN, ANP, and CRNA licenses lapse on November 30th of even-numbered years. All LPN’s licenses expire on September 30th of even-numbered years. New licenses issued within one year and not within 90 days of the current expiration date will be issued a permanent license to either expire September 30 or November 30 (depending on type of license) of the current expiration date. For example, an RN license issued in June 2016 will be valid until November 30, 2016. New licenses issued within 90 days of the current expiration date will be issued a permanent license through the next licensing period. For example, an RN license issued in September 2016 will be valid until November 30, 2016. The 2016 date is used for illustration because that date is the next expiration date.
Do I have to pay the full renewal fee since I was just issued a permanent license within the past year?
No, licensees who received a permanent license within one year and up to 90 days before the current expiration date have to renew, but will pay one-half of the current renewal fee.
When will I receive notice that my renewal is due?
Renewal notices are mailed at least 60 days before the expiration date to the address on file with the Board of Nursing. If you have a change of address, submit it as soon as possible so your renewal notice will not be delayed. On-line renewal is available! In the 2014-2016 renewal period, over 90% of RNs and LPNs renewed on line. It is fast, secure and convenient!
How do I reinstate my license?
Reinstatement requirements are printed on the Application for Reinstatement of Nursing License available from this website. Note: continuing education submitted to “reinstate” your license may not be used to “renew” your license.
What is the renewal date for Certified Nurse Aide (CNA) certificates?
All nurse aide certificates lapse on March 31 of even-numbered years.
What are the requirements to renew a CNA certificate?
The requirements are set out in the statutes and regulations available from this website or the Board of Nursing Office. They are also listed on the CNA renew forms. Here are the requirement in order to renew, a CNA must verify working 160 hours as a CNA in the preceding renewal period. In addition, verification of 24 contact hours of continuing education is required.
Contact the Board of Nursing office at 907.269.8161. Or send questions to email@example.com