Commerce Banner
 
State of Alaska > Commerce > DED > Made In Alaska > Permit Process
 
MIA Permit Process
 

Certification Requirements     Utilizing the MIA Emblem     Penalties for Misuse of MIA Emblem

In order to receive a permit to use the MADE IN ALASKA emblem on a product or handicraft, a completed application must be submitted to a MADE IN ALASKA agent or the Division of Economic Development.

A separate permit is required for each of the applicant's handicrafts or product lines. The annual permit fee for the MADE IN ALASKA permit is $25.00 per product line or a maximum of $75.00 per permit holder.

A permit to use the MADE IN ALASKA emblem is valid for one year from the date the permit is issued. A permit may be renewed by:

  • submitting a complete permit renewal application; and

  • paying the required fee

The department or a MADE IN ALASKA agent will review the application to verify information concerning the applicant's products through either a site inspection of the manufacturing facilities or other verification procedure.

Based on the verification report, the commissioner, or a MADE IN ALASKA agent will make the determination if the handicraft, product, or product line meets the MADE IN ALASKA program requirements.

The commissioner or a MADE IN ALASKA agent must approved or disapprove an application or renewal application to use MADE IN ALASKA emblems within 30 days of the date of receipt of a completed application.

Within 30 days after receiving notification of denial of an application or renewal for authorization to use the MADE IN ALASKA emblem. If the applicant wishes to appeal, the applicant's exclusive recourse shall be as follows:

The applicant may request reconsideration by the commissioner. The request for reconsideration must specify grounds that would support reversal of the denial. Within 30 days after receipt of a completed request for reconsideration, the commissioner will issue a written decision. The commissioner's decision on reconsideration constitutes final administrative action by the department. The applicant shall have no direct claims against Webb's Consulting & Management Services, Inc.

Certification Requirements        Back to Top

A permit to the MADE IN ALASKA emblem will be issued to an applicant who:

  • locates and maintains the handicraft or product making or manufacturing operation with the state;

  • produces a handicraft in the state or a product in which the value-added processes were accomplished in the state;

  • uses Alaska resources and materials in the manufacturing or production of the product or handicraft, or provides documentation that the raw resources and materials do not exist with the state either in the form, quality, or quantity required for the production of the product or the handicraft;

  • has a current Alaska business license if required by AS 43.70;

  • submits a completed application and the required annual fees;

  • permits the inspection of the production or manufacturing site by the commissioner or a MADE IN ALASKA agent; and

  • complies with the requirements of AS 45.65.010 - 45.65.070 and 3 AAC 58.005 - .600 to determine the eligibility of the product.

A finished product that is only partially manufactured within the state may be authorized to use the MADE IN ALASKA emblem if:

  • the producer demonstrates that no manufacturing facility exists in the state with the capacity or expertise to do the work being accomplished outside the state; the commissioner or MADE IN ALASKA agent will not consider cost alone as a valid justification for using out-of-state manufacturing facilities; and

  • the majority of the value-added processes are accomplished in the state.

The printing industry is not eligible for a permit to use the MADE IN ALASKA emblem for routine printing projects that involve printing or duplication or items or writings not created by the printer.

Utilizing the MADE IN ALASKA EMBLEM        Back to Top

The permit holder may obtain MADE IN ALASKA emblems from authorized sources that conform to the requirements of AS 45.65.010 - 45.65.070 and 3 AAC 58.005 - .900. The representation of the emblem may be in the form of tags, stickers, rubber-stamps, etc.

A permit holder may use a representation of that emblem on labels, letterheads, business cards, in-store and other advertising , and for other similar purposes.

The MADE IN ALASKA emblem or a representation of that emblem may not be sold as art or as a dominant feature of a product logo or label unless approved by the commissioner in writing.

DEFINITIONS

  1. "handicrafts" means products that are produced for sale by a skilled craftsperson, usually as a home occupation or in a small shop; each product requires individual attention, is produced in small quantities, and utilizes a minimum number of power tools;

  2. "MADE IN ALASKA" agent means a person who holds a valid permit issued under this chapter to serve as an agent for the MADE IN ALASKA program;

  3. "manufactured product" means a product that is built, formed, fabricated, or assembled from a raw or semi-finished material which is changed in character in the final product;

  4. "product line" means a product or group of products that is manufactured utilizing similar materials and manufacturing processes and producing a finished product that is similar in form, content, and use;

  5. "value-added process" means a process that changes a raw material or a basic industrial material into a more finished product or alters the function, shape or appearance resulting in a product with increased value.

Penalties for Misuse of MADE IN ALASKA Emblem        Back to Top

Penalties of misuse of the MADE IN ALASKA emblem seal are as follows:

AS 08.45.65.060 PENALTIES (c) A person who knowingly or will fully alters, changes, or counterfeits and identification seal or emblem is guilty of a Class B misdemeanor. (d) A person who knowingly or willfully sells, or offers to sell and article that is not made in the state but bears the MADE IN ALASKA emblem is guilty of a Class B misdemeanor. (e) A person who knowingly or willfully uses the emblem for an article that is not made in the state is guilty of a Class B misdemeanor. (g) A person who has been issued a permit under AS 45.65.045 to issue permits to use the emblem is guilty of a Class B misdemeanor if the person knowingly or willfully issues a permit for an article that is not made in the state.

3 AAC 58.075. REVOCATION AND DEBARMENT (a) The permit of a person authorized to use the Silver Hand seal or the MADE IN ALASKA emblem, or to act as an agent for either the Silver Hand or the MADE IN ALASKA program who is convicted of an offense under AS 45.65.060 is automatically revoked as of the date of the conviction. (b) Any person who is convicted of an offense under AS 45.65.060 is barred from any further participation in either the Silver Hand for MADE IN ALASKA program. © After notice and opportunity for hearing, the commissioner will, in the commissioner's discretion, revoke a permit for failure to comply with the requirements of AS 45.65.010 - 45.65.070 including the payment of fees, and this chapter.

For More Information

If you are interested in obtaining a copy of the MADE IN ALASKA regulations or if you would like additional information on the MADE IN ALASKA program, please contact:

Physical and Mailing Address
741 East 13th Avenue
Anchorage, AK 99501-4621
Phone: 907-272-5634 - Fax: 907-272-5635


DOWNLOAD: MIA Initial Certification Packet